Posted by: ryanbailey03 | July 31, 2010

Reno Hiking: Hunter Creek Waterfall

The Hunter Creek Trail is a beautiful 5.5 mile hike on the outskirts of Reno.  This hike offers a 25-30 foot waterfall, lush meadows, and a forest canopy more reminiscent of a coastal hike than one into the eastern Sierras.  Its a high level of difficulty, with an evelation gain of roughly 900 feet and trail deteriation that can be challenging in sections.  However, the waterfall offers a nice breeze and mist to cool you down once you reach it. 

I would recommend this hike to anyone who wants to experience what this area has to offer.  It takes between 2 and 4 hours depending on your pace.  To get there from downtown take I-80 west and exit at McCarran Blvd, take a left at the light and go under the freeway.  Take a right onto Mayberry next to Roy Gomm Elementary, turn left on Plateu Rd. (Juniper Ridge), take a right on woodchuck, drive to end of wood chuck to find the trailhead.

Enjoy

Responses

  1. I know about this trail but for some reason I haven’t done it yet! Thanks for reminding me that I need to take a little trip. =)

    • Yea no problem thanks for reading about it you’re the first one. I did it today and the waterfall is flowing pretty good so enjoy it.

  2. Nice picture! I’ll have to check that out, it looks awesome. Being new to the area, this information on hiking areas will be useful.

    Looking forward to more to come.

    • Thank you, it’s a very scenic hike. I’ll try to keep the blog updated with some more hikes in this area. Let me know if I can help with directions or anything.

  3. Amazing a place that beautiful is right in our backyard. Just did it the other day, thanks for the directions!!!

    • Good deal man glad you enjoyed it….Thanks for reading the blog

  4. Hi Ryan,
    I’m really enjoying reading your blog. The waterfalls certainly made this hike worth the time. I realized two things while hiking: I’m totally out of shape and what takes you 2 hours took me 5 and felt like the Batan Death march and that it is important to get an early start so you don’t roast after you run out of water. Looks like your mother needs some lessons. Love you, Mom

    • Thanks mom I appreciate it. Just keep at it and maybe you can get it down to 4 hrs. We’ll go this weekend and I’ll whip you into shape 🙂

  5. We’re doing a few when I get into town in september. p.s. Go Broncos!

    • Russ, thanks for reading the blog. I’m definitely up for that, let me know when you get in.

  6. It looks beautiful! I’ll have to take my dog soon for sure. I’ve just gotten more into hiking and mountain biking so I look forward to more tips from you on cool places to go!
    http://stephaniesur.wordpress.com/

    • Hey Stephanie, thanks for reading the blog. The waterfall trail is great for dogs, my boxer loves the hike and there are places where they can get water along the way. It’s not the greatest for mountain biking but my next blog will be about a trail that I just recently found that is great for both. So check back in and let me know if I can make any improvements.
      Ryan

  7. I took your advice and hiked this trail this past weekend. I was a little shocked about the “easy” trail comment haha. It was more moderate there was a trail blow out and none of the trail is shaded. My poor dogs were exhausted! I think I need a shaded hike 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation! I will have to try it again when i don’t bring my dogs.

    • Kiley,
      I apologize about the trail difficulty but it is posted as moderate due to the elevation gain, and the trail deterioration. Also, I promise you that once you hit the tree line (forrest) it does become more refreshing due to the shade provided by the forrest canopy. I hope that your next hike is more memorable and if you need someone to show you the way let me know and I would be more than happy to get you to the waterfall.

      Ryan

  8. You described this hike beautifully! One tip I would share with everyone based on my personal experience is that if you’ve just come from living at sea-level or a lower altitude, slow you’re pace a little to keep from puking up your breakfast! And even if you do hurl, keep on truckin’ because it’s a pretty waterfall!

    • It is indeed beautiful and worth the effort. Thanks for trucking on through the tough spots.

  9. Ryan,

    The site looks great. We’ll have to check one out the next time I visit.

    Bob

  10. I have heard of this from a co-worker and keep telling myself I am going to do this hike. Now that I see your pictures and info on the hike, I am kicking myself for not doing it already. Awesome site by the way. Jason Baden

    • Hey Jason,
      Thanks for reading my blog. It’s a great hike and definitely worth doing at least once. Let me know how it goes, I’d love to hear some feedback. Thanks again.
      Ryan

  11. I have done some of the Tahoe trails but never this one, and I live within a few miles from it. That will be my next target as the picture is just too awesome to ignore. BTW, I will suggest you also create your own grading system for these trails by the time/distance, the slope up and down, the kind of gravel, etc..just to make the choice a bit more objective for those of us who are hiking uninitiated.

    • Absolutely, I’ll be going back through the posts to update them with this information. Thank you for the suggestions and let me know how the hike went for you. I’d love to hear what you thought about it. Thanks again.
      Ryan B.

  12. 1/13/12 – Got about an hour in when It started to get dark and cold (late start), so turned around. Glad to know there’s a goal. Good description of the trail and how to reach it.

  13. This is a great hike, best we’ve done on the Reno side of the TRT. It feels longer than the advertised distance, but regardless is highly recommended. It is difficult, but not overly so, and gorgeous. Only caveat is to be careful when it gets hot out as the trail is totally exposed until the last half mile or so.

    • Hi Richard! I’m glad that you enjoyed the hike. I think this is the best time of year to do this hike since the heat is down and the waterfall is usually flowing with the most amount of water due to snow run off. Thanks for viewing and commenting


Leave a Reply

Categories

